Album Review: We are the 80s -The Bangles

Album Name: We are the 80s -The Bangles
Artist: The Bangles
Year/Label: 2006 / Sony

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I know I have mentioned in the past that I am an 80s girl. I was in high school and college in the 80s and we all know that’s a great time for musical discovery.

Once I got to college my tastes turned to the alternative 80s, your Smiths, REM, The Cure, etc. But in high school I was crazy for some of the more poppy acts.

So when I got The Bangles We are the 80s CD for review I was delighted and glad it was not a Flock of Seagulls.

What was actually surprising to me is that I didn’t know as many of these songs as I thought I would. I thought for sure I’d know them all. But some were new enough to me (or perhaps I forgot them) that it was almost like discovering a new band. And know what? They’re good!

The packaging is nice. The liner notes have a nice little story about the band. It’s all very brightly colored 80s style. I just wish they had included the lyrics. How am I supposed to sing along?!

This is a great trip down memory lane and if you’re like me, some discoveries too. So if you’re addicted to those VH1 shows about the 80s you might want to look into this.

Posted on August 29, 2006

Track Listing
1. Manic Monday
2. If She Knew What She Wants
3. Walk Like An Eqyptian
4. Walking Down Your Street
5. Hazy Shade Of Winter
6. In Your Room
7. Eternal Flame
8. Be With You
9. Hero Takes A Fall
10. Going Down To Liverpool
11. Complicated Girl
12. September Gurls
13. Live
14. Dover Beach

[The Bangles Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.