Album Review: Wild Birds Kristilyn Robertson

Album Name: Wild Birds
Artist: Kristilyn Robertson
Year/Label: 2010 / Independent

[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve been a fan of Kristilyn for awhile now. Since she sent me her first CD, [The Uncut Version], back in 2005 when it made my best of the year list.

She has a very distinctive (and lovely) voice and it’s interesting to see how it’s changed over the years and how she’s grown as a songwriter.

These songs for the most part are pretty soft and mellow. Though Stand Up! Is a little more up-tempo and deserves the exclamation point at the end.

It’s hard to pick a favorite here because I really am a fan of all her work, but I’ll go ahead and say that today I’m really enjoying the title song, Wild Birds. I may change my mind tomorrow.

Oh wait, I also really like the jazzy cabaret feel of One Point Seven Seconds.

This is a top-notch record. If you enjoy great piano playing, interesting songs and strong female vocals, get it.

Track Listing
1. Toward the Ocean
2. Dinner for One
3. Stand Up!
4. My Favourite Storm
5. Wild Birds
6. What Could I Tell You
7. One Point Seven Seconds
8. Made of Gold
9. A Pretty Garden
10. Scavenger
11. Not Today
12. (bonus track)

[Kristilyn Robertson Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.