Album Review: Woman Mother Earth Sky by Roberta Chevrette

Album Name: Woman Mother Earth Sky
Artist: Roberta Chevrette
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Now this is folk music. Acoustic guitar…sweet voice…intelligent and political lyrics…it’s everything folk is supposed to be.

Chevrette’s style isn’t all that unique; I mean there are a lot of folk singers out there. But she is very good. The guitar sound is homey and at times I feel like I am sitting with her at a campfire having a sing-along.

There’s more here that just girl and guitar, however. She uses banjo, woodwinds, and percussion to round out her sound. She also does spoken word really well.

Chevrette lets you into her world and makes you want to know her and hang out.

Stand out songs: “Refrigerator Poetry” has a nice bouncy feel. “Indulge” has some really nice (Ani-ish)guitar work and great lyrics. “This Time” has a very cool sound.

Posted on August 11, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Grace
2. Refrigerator Poetry
3. What Has Happened?
4. Restless
5. What We Had
6. Come Along
7. I Wish
8. Can You Hear This?
9. Waiting for You
10. Indulge
11. Not Worried
12. Enlightenment
13. Bending
14. This Time

[Roberta Chevrette Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.