Album Review: Worlds Apart by Blue Stone

Album Name: Worlds Apart
Artist: Blue Stone
Year/Label: 2007 / Neurodisc

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This record is very much in the Sleepthief, Delerium, Enigma, realm of music. It also reminds me of a band I fell in love with years ago that I’ve not heard of in quite some time, they’re called KinZaZa.

Anyway, that’s not to say that there’s not room for one more. This is a great genre, or style if you prefer. I’m sure there are a lot of crappy bands out there trying to do this, but Blue Stone is not one of them. I love this record.

Blue Stone is Robert Smith (no, not the one from The Cure) and Bill Walters. On this record they are joined by vocalists, Maura Hurley, Sheyenne Rivers, and Samantha Sandlin.

The songs are layered lush masterpieces that have beautiful female vocals weaving in and out.

Everything about this project is gorgeous. The music for sure, but also the artwork, the packaging and all the promo around it. For example here’s a video of the song “Worlds Apart”

This is a gorgeous record and if you like the above bands and/or this type of music I highly recommend it.

Note: the CD comes with a DVD of the above music video and some behind the scenes stuff as well. You’ve got to love the versatility of Styrofoam coolers.

Posted on February 28, 2007

Track Listing
1. Set Adrift
2. Waters Flow
3. Lost Sun
4. Dreamcatcher
5. Voleti
6. Worlds Apart (Searching For You)
7. Envy
8. Take Flight
9. Far Away
10. Labyrinth Of Dreams
11. Tears
12. Event Horizon
13. Remember This
14. On The Wind
15. Circles
16. Flood

[Blue Stone Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.