La Fille du Cirque by Camille

Album Name: La Fille du Cirque-live at the Famous Spiegeltent in Melbourne
Artist: Camille
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent
her site

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Camille O’Sullivan is a singer and actress from Ireland and she is an interpreter of others’ songs. She has a great gift for this, which is put to good use on this live recording.

Nick Cave’s works are favored as are those of Jaques Brel. She starts with a sedate, ironic God is in the House which shows off her splendid voice.

Tom Waits “A Good Man” gets a cabaret-ish, coquettish take. O’Sullivan seems like she’s got the audience in the palm of her hand as she roars at them. Take that Scarlett Johansson.

She gives Brel’s “Next” a rockin’ take showing off her powerful pipes again. She has a unique gift for crawling into these songs and inhabiting them. The version of Cave’s “The Mercy Seat” rises in dramatic intensity from a slow start and O’Sullivan really gets to its black heart.

The rendition of Bowie’s “Moonage Daydream” rock sand gives a great theatrical highlight.

Camille O’Sullivan is a true talent and this album is proof of that.

Posted on May 25, 2008

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 God Is In The House
2 The Devil’s Workshop
3 A Good Man
4 Song For Old Lovers
5 Next
6 Are You The One?
7 Amsterdam
8 In These Shoes
9 The Mercy Seat
10 Look Mummy
11 Vesoul
12 Moonage Daydream
13 Marieke
14 Jackie
15 Is That All There Is?

[Camille Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.