Album Review: Far Beyond the Pacific by Melissa Giges


Album Name: Far Beyond the Pacific

Artist: Melissa Giges

Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Sometimes I think an artist needs a band. Whether they have one or not when I am listening, sometimes I just think the voice and music would sound better with backing. This is not one of those times.

When I first put the CD in I heard some lovely piano and voice and then the band came in and I was disappointed. It went from pleasing pretty piano song to wedding band in a skinny minute.

Luckily the rest of the record is not plagued by the same thing. The instrumentation on other songs is much better. On One Day After they added just the right amount of “band” to make sense and not take away from the song. Her voice is especially impressive on the last note. It’s not doing anything extraordinary, just sounds great.

Her voice is really good; I’m just not sold on the production and instrumentation (except the piano which is great). It’s a little too late 70s-early 80s Adult Contemporary for me.

Listen on CDBaby and then discuss!

Track Listing

1. Find Some Time
2. One Day After
3. Some Kind Of Trouble
4. Surrender
5. Caught
6. Holding On
7. Stand By
8. Masquerade
9. Carry You
10. Miscommunication
11. So Good
12. Lifted
13. Who Will I Be
14. Finally
15. Lay My Head Down

[Melissa Giges Official Site]

[Melissa Giges on MySpace]

[Buy at CD Baby]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.