Album Review: Who I Am by Alice Peacock


CD Name: Who I Am
Artist: Alice Peacock

2006 / Umvd Labels

I wasn’t sure if I should post this, but since I took the time to listen and write it I decided I would.

I had this CD on my desk and a co-worker passing by pointed at it and said, “Isn’t that a little too mainstream for you?”. Yes, it is. It’s very AAA bordering on Top 40, or maybe it even is Top 40…I wouldn’t know, I don’t listen to commercial radio.

The first two tracks are skippable for me. I listened to them each a few times before deciding I couldn’t anymore. They remind me of the pseudo-country music that was all the rage in the early 90s.

But if I just take those two off my playlist (or skip them if I’m in the car) the record is pretty good. Albeit, it all has that 90s AAA feel…think Del Amitri, Lowen and Navarro…they’re all fine, and I loved them to death back then. But my tastes have changed somewhat in the last 15 years.

I like her voice. It’s pleasant, she hits all the notes, and it matches the musical genre well. However it’s not very unique. I wouldn’t hear a song somewhere and declare, ‘that’s Alice Peacock’ unless I already knew the song specifically. But that’s not an entirely bad thing. There are always artists who sound like someone else. It’s all good.

I do love that she plays piano.

But I can accept Alice Peacock and this album as what it is. Pop for the over 40 crowd. (yes, chronologically that’s where I fall, but musically I’m much less mature).

I can’t figure out why I don’t like this more. It’s like so many other things I like. It’s just not clicking with me.
Track Listing
1. Different From The Rest
2. Baby Come Back
3. Here I Go Again
4. Time
5. Taught Me Well
6. Anyone But Me
7. Runaway Day
8. Love
9. Only A Memory
10. I’m Still Here
11. Sunflower
12. Finding My Way
13. Who I Am
14. If You Could Only See Your Eyes

Alice Peacock Official Site

1 comment for “Album Review: Who I Am by Alice Peacock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.