Album Review: Aloneaphobe by Steven Mark

Album Name: Aloneaphobe
Artist: Steven Mark
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Steven Mark has a really nice sound. It’s somewhere between Matthew Sweet, The Carpenters, The Birds and the Monkees. Throw a little Wilco in there and I think you get the idea.

I’d call this pop more than rock just because it’s got a more accessible feel and isn’t hard at all. Lots of use of harmonies and unison singing. Mark has a lovely casual sounding voice.

Opening song, “Window In The Dark” reminds me of “Don’t Fear Reefer” Blue Oyster Cult. (if anyone says, “More Cowbell” I swear…)

This is a great easygoing pop recording and if you like any of the above artists, you’ll probably enjoy Steven Mark as well.

Posted on August 10, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Window In The Dark
2. Lazy Sunday Afternoon
3. Weak
4. Yesterday’s Smile
5. A Ballad For Now
6. Don’t Cross Lake Avenue
7. Ditsy Genius
8. Homespun Vanilla Pie
9. Fairmaiden
10. Narcissus
11. You’ve Seen It All
12. But If You Look To The Right
13. Nobody’s Home
14. In From The Rain

[Steven Mark Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.