Album Review: Animal Life by 27

Album Name: Animal Life
Artist: 27
Year/Label: 2003 / Kimchee Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

27’s debut is quietly sublime. Their music is hard to categorise but has elements of rock, jazz and country. Singer Maria Christopher has an airy, melodic voice that suits the music well.

“Trouble Heart” dances into a Cowboy Junkies mood. “Please take this trouble heart.” sings Christopher plaintively.

“Sky Walker” is a jazzy, languorous song with poetic lyrics.

“9 Mile Burn” is a sweetly played pop song. It’s got some great guitar playing on it by Maria Christopher.

“For an Exchange” uses Neil Coulon’s clarinet well. The song is loose and playful.

“Heat Sink” is a slow burning guitar epic that shows the bands harder side.

“Animal Life” is a brilliant debut for 27.

Posted on February 23, 2003

Track Listing
1. No Water
2. Trouble Heart
3. Sky Walker
4. Undone
5. 9 Mile Burn
6. For An Exchange
7. Devil’s Play
8. Heat Sink
9. Cavalla

[27 Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.