Album Review: Barnacles of Joy by Vanessa Lowe

Album Name: Barnacles of Joy
Artist: Vanessa Lowe
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is Vanessa’s second CD, her first being 1999’s “Her House of Sin” .

I knew I’d like this CD as soon as I saw the great CD package and the whimsical name, “Barnacles of Joy”. It made me smile and so does the music.

Vanessa has a gift for songwriting that is reminiscent of Aimee Mann. The songs are clever, have interesting melodies and are performed very well.

I really admire her clever lyrical style.

In the pretty, “Wait for Me” she sings:

“You’ve got apples in your cheeks and berries for your lips and I want to bake you up save you for a rainy day.”

On “For Awhile” she says:

It might surprise you to know That I have been looking for you But I’ve got a really short attention span So if I were you I’d make your move”

The English isn’t perfect, but it’s pure and honest, as are all the songs on this recording.

Posted on March 8, 2003

Track Listing
1. My Venom Lover
2. Cut Me Once
3. I Am
4. Who Do You Believe
5. Back From London
6. Wait For Me
7. 30 Feet Deep
8. But Wait…
9. Morsel
10. For A While
11. Life Is A Party
12. The Elven God
13. The Final Word
14. My Mama Told Me

[Vanessa Lowe Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.