Album Review: Bitch Get Fit by NLX


Album Name: Bitch Get Fit
Artist: NLX
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Wow, I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get something on paper about this. But it’s also quite possible I wrote a whole review and then [lost it.]

I have enjoyed NLX’s music since I first heard her two EPs, In Your Face and Behind Your Back (released together for the most part). When I received this CD in the mail I was delighted. When she offered to do a house concert I was ecstatic. We whipped one together in less than two weeks. But that’s another post.

Anyway, NLX, if you don’t know, is Natasha Alexandra. She’s originally from Toronto (or nearby) and currently lives in New York City. She decided to use a “stage name” as it were because people kept getting her last name wrong and she felt it would be kinda cool to have a moniker of sorts. I like it, it suits her.

I loved her previous stuff and some of those songs are even on this album, but this record is stunning. She makes use of a lot of soundscapes, loops, funk rhythms, and that beautiful distinctive voice which can soar or growl but always fit the music perfectly.

The songs are very well written, interesting and comfortable at the same time. She can go from techno-pop that Imogen Heap would be jealous of (Hallelujah), to lovely quiet ballads that remind me of Ellery (Getting Off).

Wow, this is going to be hard (because I truly like them all), but my favorite tracks on this one are: Buckle Up, Spin, Code Red and Smoke and Mirrors. There, I’d better stop before I name them all.

Track Listing

  1. Prologue
  2. Buckle Up
  3. Hallelujah
  4. Getting Off
  5. 15 Years
  6. Also Known As
  7. So Far Apart
  8. Young Love
  9. Spin
  10. Afraid
  11. Faultline
  12. Code Red
  13. Lifted
  14. Smoke & Mirrors
  15. Find Love
  16. Epilogue

[NLX Official Site]
[Bitch Get Fit! Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.