Album Review: Bitter Tears by Ella Blame

ELLA BLAME: Bitter Tears

Album Name: Bitter Tears
Artist: Ella Blame
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

OK. Let me just say that you’ve got to be in the right (or is it wrong?) frame of mind to appreciate this album and Ella Blame’s music in general. I’m not 100% sure I get it myself.

The opening track Cyberlover was reportedly created using only a toothbrush, a glass, a brass bed post and a mattress…and vocals of course.

The rest of the songs use more conventional instruments, but that doesn’t make them any less strange. Mostly because Ella Blame’s voice is a constant. I hope this doesn’t come across as disrespectful, because I honestly think she’s pretty amazing. And I’m going to guess she’s, at least kinda, going for ‘strange’.

She has one of those odd voices that can go very very deep and also reach high notes you didn’t know were possible. And she uses them in the same song. She also makes sounds that sound like a slide whistle and whatnot, but it’s all her.

I will say I am partial to Bit for Bit as it’s a little bit (heh) more conventional than the others and a little easier to “get”. I actually like it quite a lot.

This is not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are genuinely interested in music and making music, I think you’ll appreciate this record and be quite entertained.

Track Listing
1 Cyberlover
2 Perfect Man
3 If I Could
4 Incurable
5 Slippery Slope
6 A Thousand Kisses
7 Bitter Tears
8 Foldback
9 I’m Just Dreaming
10 Bit For Bit
11 Hymn Of Goodbye

[Ella Blame Official Site]


1 comment for “Album Review: Bitter Tears by Ella Blame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.