Album Review: Blazing Red by Anne Heaton


Album Name: Blazing Red
Artist: Anne Heaton
Year/Label: 2009 / Spill Records

[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve been following Anne Heaton’s career for years. I’ve also hosted her for Collected Sounds House Concert series, so it’s safe to say I am a fan.

She has a very unique voice with lots of charm and vibrato. It’s one of those things you’ll probably like or not. I do, trust me, but even I”ll admit at times it can be overdone. But 99% of the time it’s beautiful and adds a nice depth to the songs. Certainly makes her a unique artist. You hear that voice and you know it’s Anne Heaton.

Opening song, Jump is probably my favorite. It’s soothing and has a wonderful melody.

Pieces of Me is another stand out. There are some nice backing vocals.

I Know This is one of those songs I felt I knew by heart the first time I heard it. And I don’t think it’s because it sounds like something else, I think it’s just that well written and comfortable.

The peppy Only Way Out is In is a fun lively number.

The rest of the album is made up of lovely songs: well written, expertly performed and produced with class. Par for the course on a Heaton release. She never fails to impress.

Always a First Class act.

Track Listing
1. Jump
2. Crystallize
3. Pieces of Me
4. My Only Way Out Is In
5. Where Your Scar Is
6. Momma to You
7. Out to Sea
8. Why I Resist
9. Blazing Red
10. Halfway Times Two
11. Fire Sign
12. Secret Weapon
13. Strings Ov

[Anne Heaton Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.