Album Review: Blue Jay by Katie Jay

Album Name: Blue Jay
Artist: Katie Jay
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

In the mood for some raw, gusty, heart wrenching rock music? Then look somewhere other than “Blue Jay”, the debut CD from Katie Jay. But if pleasant, non-offensive girl pop is your thing, this is perfect for you.

The songs are predictable (some love this, some don’t) but performed well. Jay’s voice is soft and sweet ala Marie Frank and matches the music nicely.

I can’t honestly say that Katie Jay’s music stands out much over the other young pop girls who have sent their CDs my way in recent months but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I mean, those who haven’t been inundated with pop girls recently may find her refreshing.

Posted on May 10, 2004

Track Listing
1. Up To You
2. Blow My Mind
3. Who’s Gonna Be There
4. Down To the Depths
5. One More Night
6. So Badly
7. Somewhere Down the Line
8. The Hardest Thing
9. Runaway
10. Counting Down the Days
11. Madison’s Garden

[Katie Jay Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.