Album Review: Chasing Eva by Maple Bee

Album Name: Chasing Eva
Artist: Maple Bee
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon UK]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Melanie Garside has quite a past, as a solo performer and member of the band Tabitha Zu. These days she is a member of the Medieval Baebes, plays in QueenAdrena and fronts the Vertical Angels.

This record is a solo release and allows Garside to use all her talents on its two discs. Landing somewhere between Björk’s experimentalism and Tori Amos’ expressiveness she succeeds on all counts.

“Hello Eve” is an acoustic soft song with some of her dreamiest singing.

“The Messenger” (a stunning video for it is included) is a heart-wrenching song with some amazing singing.

The twisted cover of Doris Days “Perhaps, Perhaps” is another delight.

“Old Ties” is an intriguing tune, its Björkian sense of daring works well.

“Something” is an exotic-sounding track that recalls Siouxsie at her best. Garside’s voice swooping dramatically through the song.

“Chasing Eva” is as good as they come.

Posted on March 24, 2005

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Bell Song
2. Moth Touch
3. Turn In
4. Hello Eve
5. Around For Eva
6. Sun On Snow
7. The Messenger
8. Perhaps Perhaps
9. Sadness Landed
10. City In A Belly
11. Fit In
12. The Messenger – Video

Disc: 2
1. Rare Colours
2. Ties
3. Alright (Build me a house)
4. This Time
5. Something
6. What’s Coming Next
7. State Of Waiting
8. Got Her Way
9. Cocooner
10. The Wing

[ Maple Bee Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.