Album Review: Christmas Joy by Fiona Joy Hawkins

Album Name: Christmas Joy
Artist: Fiona Joy Hawkins
Year/Label: 2011 / Little Hartley Music

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Fiona Joy Hawkins has made some great music in the past, and now she makes a tasteful seasonal album.

Walking in the Air becomes a becalmed lullaby with some excellent piano playing.

Silent Night is rendered beautifully and with a demeanor that guarantees a fresh take on the song.

O Come O Come Emmanuel gets an equally tranquil and fresh take. Hawkins piano sounds wonderful as ever.

Flight of the Snowbird is an exceedingly lovely song that she inhabits easily.

I don’t normally review Christmas albums but this one is too good to leave out.

Track Listing
1. Walking in the Air
2. Still Still Still
3. Silent Night
4. Jingle Bells
5. Gliding on a Sleigh
6. Christmas Wedding
7. Come O come Emmanuel
8. Flight of the Snowbird
9. The Holly and the Ivy
10. Christmas Joy
11. Away in a Manger

[Fiona Joy Hawkins Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.