Album Review: Dirty Hands by Johnny Hollow

Album Name: Dirty Hands
Artist: Johnny Hollow
Year/Label: 2008 / Orange Record Label

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Johnny Hollow is a group that consists of Janine White, Kitty Thompson and Vincent Marcone.

The trio follows up their gorgeous debut with an equally inspired second album. They play a darkwave. flavoured version of music with a classical instrumentation.

Stranger is a lovely song where the female voices lends it a resemblance to Rasputina.

Die 4 Love is slow and sad and Marcone’s whispered vocals lend it an eerie quality. The words are of alienation as they are on many of the songs here. It gathers momentum as the cello joins in.

Nova Heart has a gorgeous lead vocal and a neo. classical sound that makes it stand out.

They cover the Doors’ People are Strange and make it sound good. It sounds nothing like the original and it’s still bewildered by the state of the human condition.

It’s an album to enjoy by candlelight as shadows flicker across the walls and night creeps in.

Posted on April 8, 2008

Track Listing
1. Alchemy
2. Stanger
3. Die 4 Love
4. This Hollow World
5. Worse Things
6. Nova Heart
7. Superhero
8. BoogeyMan
9. Human Lullaby
10. Alibi
11. Stone Throwers
12. People Are Strange
13. Aegis


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.