Album Review: Edge of Spring by Sally Doherty & the Sumacs

Album Name: Edge of Spring: A Collection of Songs 1995-2005
Artist: Sally Doherty & the Sumacs
Year/Label: 2006/ Shayo Records

[Buy at Strange Fortune]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This record is a mixture of previously unreleased tracks and some of her favorites from her previous releases.

Anna Maria has reviewed Sally’s music in the past. But I personally had never listened to it.

There is quite a bit going on here and it is very lovely. There is flute, accordion, cello, clarinet, piano, and much more.

But it’s Sally’s voice that is the star of this show. It’s beautiful, crystal clear and sounds fantastic with the songs. Even when she’s just doing “Ooooohs” as on ‘Mourning I’, it’s simply lovely.

The songs area mixture of genres and not always sung in English. There’s something almost theatrical about this. AS in, I can see it being the backdrop for a film or play.

This is really a very beautiful album. It’s very mood altering…or maybe I should say mood-setting. It’s hard to describe, but if you like layered orchestrated music with stunning female vocals, you should check this out. Then perhaps buy the rest of Sally Doherty’s discography.

Posted on December 5, 2006

Track Listing
1. This is What She Said
2. The Shore
3. la Llorona
4. Gold
5. Mourning l
6. Caminho
7. Our Senses
8. Low Lowlands of Holland
9. The Endless Night
10. Some Never Know
11. Lagan Love
12. I Am River
13. An Open Boat
14. Silver
15. Black is the Colour
16. Voice
17. One Voice I

[Sally Doherty & the Sumacs Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.