Album Review: First one Free by Mark Bilyeu

Album Name: First one Free
Artist: Mark Bilyeu
Year/Label: 2005 / MayApple Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

“Antique Dreams” is a nice pop song. It reminded me of Matthew Sweet but has a more classic/southern rock feel.

“Don’t Need So Much” and “Money” are more of the classic rock style.

“Finally Free”, “Backwater” are downright country.

“Home in the Country” is also country-ish but it’s more of a ballad. Lots of use of the slide guitar. Well done.

Other than the first song, this CD is not really my cup o’ tea, but I can recognize that he’s talented. If you like the sort of music he does, you’ll probably like this recording, as it’s clear he’s very good at it.

Posted on December 29, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Antique Dreams
2. Don’t Need So Much
3. Finally Free
4. Backwater
5. Home in the Country
6. Money
7. 800 Miles Around
8. It’s Gonna Be Easy
9. Brady and Duncan
10. Burn Brightly
11. I’ve Brought a Sorrow Here
12. Paint
13. Budgeted Time

[Mark Bilyeu Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.