Album Review: From the Deep by Amy Obenski

Album Name: From the Deep
Artist: Amy Obenski
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Amy Obenski’s other album, Kite in 2006. That one had a 70s feel to it, at least for me. This one not so much. It’s still lovely low-key pop music, but it doesn’t shout any specific decade to me.

I was captivated by her lyrics on the last one. Same here. Words on a Page is wonderful. She sings of how some of us, we don’t connect with people we see everyday, but then go home and think about or even write about them. It’s about engaging in the moment instead of just imagining what it would be like. At least that’s what I’m getting out of it! There’s some lovely piano playing on this song as well.

Actually the musicianship on this whole record is fantastic. There are songs with a full sound with drums and backing vocals and some more sparse and they all sound great. It’s a pretty mellow album in general.

I particularly like Rattling our Cages. Such a gorgeous melody.

If you’re in the market for some lovely piano pop with intelligent lyrics and beautiful vocals, you can’t go wrong here.

Track Listing
1. Gravity
2. Clearly Today
3. Words on a Page
4. Wheels
5. Rattling Our Cages
6. Mountains O’ Things
7. Send Me
8. Rainbow
9. Green Banks
10. Long Ago
11. From The Deep
12. Because of a Lady in France
13. Poem

[Amy Obenski Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.