Album Review: From the Padded Cell of Suburbia by Apryl Electra

Album Name: rom the Padded Cell of Suburbia
Artist: Apryl Electra
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is one instance where the cover image has you expecting something other than what is actually inside. Judging by Apryl Electra’s look I was expecting punk or at least hard-ish rock. But this is actually more of a pop-rock album. A great one at that. I’ve been pretty addicted to it since I first listened.

There’s just enough edge to her music to make her really interesting while still being pretty close to mainstream appeal. Plus she’s a piano player and that’s always appealing to me.

Great strong, yet pleasant voice. The songs are very well written and interesting. The songwriting reminds me a little of Jonatha Brooke (especially on “Kiss the Wind”) but more piano based and with a harder edge.

“Who’s Keeping Score” is kind of discordant and very cool. She puts just enough electronica in to jazz up the songs a little without overpowering them.

This is a great record for those who enjoy well written pop-rock music with great vocals and lots of energy.

Posted on January 18, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Easy As Pie
2. Kiss the Wind
3. Who’s Keeping Score
4. Tie-On Wings
5. A Little Something
6. Don’t Want It Back
7. All I Know
8. Double Standard
9. Payback
10. Make Me a Lady
11. Slight of Hand
12. Down the Line
13. Close Enough
14. Risk It

[Apryl Electra Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.