Album Review: Greybay by Io Perry

Album Name: Greybay
Artist: Io Perry
Year/Label: 2006 / JupiterXrecords

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Io Perry has a soft whispery voice. The songs have a quiet, shy quality. Nice harmonies and pleasing melodies with a certain lo-fi sound.

“I’ll Pick You Up” is a sweet sleepy little tune that somehow sounds very British to me. This is my favorite track, today anyway.

“Saturday” is one that is especially lo-fi sounding as you can almost hear the crackle as if it were a record. I mean a “real” record, on vinyl.

“Not What it Seems” utilizes more instruments for a more full sound.

These songs have that quality where you hear them a few times, think ‘hey, these are nice’ but then next time you hear it you go, ‘oh I really like this song!’ Almost like it’s an old friend.

If you are in the mood for what I feel is comfortable Sunday morning music, this is a good bet.

Posted on April 25, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Eugene’s Holiday
2. Sick Of You
3. I’ll Pick You Up
4. Saturday
5. Not What It Seems
6. It’s Ok
7. So Come On
8. Here You Are
9. Broke A Chill
10. Do It Again
11. Yeah You See
12. Coco
13. Opal
14. Pretty Little Head

[Io Perry Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.