Album Review: Have Another Pillow by Blueberry

Album Name: Have Another Pillow
Artist: Blueberry
Year/Label: 2003 / The Shaz Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

The second album by Blueberry is a development from the debut “Twilight”. Singer and leader Gwen Snyder favours a groove-based sound but there’s more depth this time.

The funky opener “Miss Understood” sets the scene for what’s to come.

“Dragon Hill” should get any dance floor moving. Its retro stylings are irresistible.

The spaced-out “Le Mat(The Fool)” bends Blueberry’s sound in a very pleasing direction.

“Honey Bee” is soulful and sinuous.

“Off with My head” is a very nice ballad with drastic lyrics.

“White Flag Lullaby” is even more pared down and very affecting for it.

The great “Elevate Her” is another standout. Its lush sound is sheer bliss to hear.

This is a fine record.

Posted on May 28, 2003

Track Listing
1. Miss Understood
2. Dragon Hill
3. Idol Hands
4. Le Mat (The Fool)
5. Honey Bee
6. Tears
7. Off With My Head
8. White Flag Lullaby
9. Flaming Tendrils
10. Elevate Her
11. Brother Love
12. Chosen Land
13. Please
14. Return

[Blueberry Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.