Album Review: Here with You by Beth Stalker

Album Name: Here with You
Artist: Beth Stalker
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Upon reading the press materials that came with this record, I was pretty sure I would not end up reviewing it. See, I don’t care for religious music and seeing as Beth’s other release (that was also sent to me) was called “Hallalujah, I Love Him So” I had my doubts.

But you know, I listen to everything I get. Everything. And much to my surprise, I like this record! (turns out that other record is covers of jazz standards).

Stalker’s voice is rich and clear and sounds very nice singing these songs. It’s got a bit of a country twinge to it, but not too much. The harmonies, especially on “Rest Your Spirit” are lovely.

I like that she added the acoustic version of four of these songs at the end of the CD. They’re very pretty versions.

She has a knack for writing melodies that are appealing and quite radio-pop friendly. I can see her being a big hit on Christian radio stations right along side Mindy Smith and the like. This sounds like a major label release in many ways.

Posted on May 24, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Here With You
2. How Small I Am
3. Hold Me
4. It’s Ok
5. Pieces of Dreams
6. Rest Your Spirit
7. Mother Dear
8. I Can’t Imagine
9. Second Chance
10. Fragile Wings
11. Follow You
12. Here With You (Acoustic)
13. It’s Ok (Acoustic)
14. Hold Me (Acoustic)
15. Rest Your Spirit (Acoustic)

[Beth Stalker Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.