Album Review: Jonestown by Sofia Talvik

Album Name: Jonestown
Artist: Sofia Talvik
Year/Label: 2008 / Makaki Music

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Sofia Talvik has just released her new album, which takes its name from the town where a sect committed mass-suicide. The album is far from harrowing, but has melancholy to spare.

My James Dean features Talvik’s sweet vocals set against an urgent melody.

Diamonds is a lovely and elegantly played, Talvik’s singing is beautiful as ever.
The song’s arrangement is very well done and adds to the songs sound.

Arms and Amour is a soft and appealing song about daring to be open to life and love. The melody is instantly familiar in a good way.

The title song ends the album on a wistful, but not downbeat note.

Talvik’s voice has such simple beauty to it and the words are good. This album really shows Talvik from her best side.

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 As Summers Pass
2 My James Dean
3 At the End
4 Diamonds
5 Something Good
6 Burning Fields
7 Arms and Armour
8 Clown
9 Lower Case Letters
10 Summer Ended Yesterday
11 Prove Me Wrong
12 Jonestown

[Sofia Talvik Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.