Album Review: Knuckle Down by Ani DiFranco

Album Name: Knuckle Down
Artist: Ani DiFranco
Year/Label: 2005 / Righteous Babe Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I am happy to report to my fellow “from the beginning” Ani fans that our old friend is back. She has gotten over the whole horns and funk thing and is back to that giggly squirrelly voice and fierce fingering guitar.

This is the Ani album I’ve been waiting for. I actually thought she was getting back on track with “Evolve” and “Education Guess” as well, but this is really my favorite of the three. I started to lose interest after “To the Teeth” but she really lost me with that whole “reveling/reckoning” thing and I haven’t been too enamored with her music since then. Until now.

There is just the right amount of jazzy spunk to let us know she hasn’t lost her steam but there’s still a lot of the fancy guitar work and heartfelt lyrics. Oh those lyrics. That’s one thing Ani has never let us down with.

I’ve pretty much had this CD on a loop for the last three days. It makes me smile.

Thanks Ani!

Posted on March 2, 2005

Track Listing
1. Knuckle Down
2. Studying Stones
3. Manhole
4. Sunday Morning
5. Modulation
6. Seeing Eye Dog
7. Lag Time
8. Parameters
9. Callous
10. Paradigm
11. Minerva
12. Recoil

[Ani DiFranco Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.