Album Review: Les Dangerueses by Lenni Jabour and the Third Floor

Album Name: Les Dangerueses
Artist: Lenni Jabour and the Third Floor
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Lenni Jabour is a chanteuse based in Canada and her new album gives a fresh spin on the cabaret formula.

“Les Fleurs Mecontentes” is a dreamy meander of a song, Jabour’s sweet vocal and the sing along chorus making it hard to resist.

“A Little Sad” is smoky and heartbroken, but catchy and fun with it.

The charming “La Fille avec les Cheveux Longes” shows Jabour’s talent well. Her use of a glockenspiel adds a nicely anachronistic touch.

The electronic ” Side Streets and Parked Cars” broadens the palette and adds a sense of modernity to the sound. This album is a lovely thing.

Posted on March 6, 2006

Track Listing
1. Les Fleurs Mecontentes
2. A Little sad
3. Rosa dances in her kitchen
4. Wolfgang
5. La Fille Avec les Cheveux Longes
6. Forever as though it’s not here
7. Side Streets and parked Cars
8. The bathtub
9. Jean-Michel
10. J’ecris son nom Encore(the empty Theatre)
11. The sweetness in you
12. Oh Camille
13. St.Henri

[Lenni Jabour and the Third Floor Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.