Album Review: Lightning by Astra Dolphin

Album Name: Lightning
Artist: Astra Dolphin
Year/Label: 2007 / A Star Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Astra Dolphin makes a pleasant and addictive debut with this effort.

Please let Me sees her use her airy voice to its best effect. The melody is simple, but her way with a tune make sit interesting.

“My story has just begun”

she sings, aptly.

The title song is quiet and folksy with the singer at her most expressive.

Go there is sweetly strummed and a bit more strident than the preceding songs. Dolphin’s vocal is a little bit hesitant, but soon she gains in confidence.

Not Too Late is quasi-psychedelic and struggles with squalls of distant guitar. Dolphin dips into Toyah-ish experimentalism with confidence here. And I mention Toyah as a compliment, lest you think otherwise.

It’s still early days for the singer, but she already shows much promise.

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Six Months
2 Please Let Me
3 Lightning
4 Forgive Me
5 Shall We
6 Go There
7 Gotta Be Love
8 Not Too Late
9 Grab This Life
10 Have You Ever
11 Take Me
12 They Say

[Astra Dolphin Official Site]

3 comments for “Album Review: Lightning by Astra Dolphin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.