Album Review: Little Eve by Kate Miller-Heidke

Album Name: Little Eve
Artist: Kate Miller-Heidke
Year/Label: 2008 / Sony

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

I’ve previously reviewed an independent ep by Kate Miller-Heidke and this is her major label debut.

She’s still an individual talent and here she truly blossoms.

Words is playful and uses its melody nicely. Miller-Heidke’s quirky delivery truly sells it. She’s almost in Lene Lovich territory with her operatic flourishes.

Mama is moving and retains the singer’s unique approach by changing tempos abruptly.

Space They Cannot Touch is from the ep and it still sounds good.

Ducks Don’t Need Satellites is a weird little song that could well be a hit.

Miller-Heidke is eccentric not because she tries to be or affects it, but she just is. And she has great songs to show for it. An essential debut all told.

Posted on March 12, 2008

Track Listing
1. I Got the Way
2. Make It Last
3. Words
4. Delay
5. Mama
6. Space They Cannot Touch
7. Shoebox
8. Don’t Let Go
9. Little Adam
10. Ducks Don’t Need Satellites
11. Thanks for Today
12. Bored with Me

[Kate Miller-Heidke Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.