Album Review: Live by Hope Littwin

Album Name: Live
Artist: Hope Littwin
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

My first thought was what an odd voice. It has a very folky, almost Joni feel to it. I thought it sounded like someone who had classical (or opera) training. Then I read that Hope Littwin is only 17 years old. Vocally she reminds me of her teen piano playing colleague, Alysson Light.

Her guitar playing is nice and stripped down. Not to say it’s simple, it’s way more than I can do, but it’s straightforward. Not a lot of layering. This is a pretty raw acoustic recording.

The songs are nicely written, especially when you consider they were written by a teenager. Compare this to what other teen musicians are up to these days and you just have to be impressed. I imagine if I walked into a coffee shop and Littwin was playing I’d be pretty blown away.

Stand out songs: “Graffiti On Your Shoulder”, “Music”

Posted on January 7, 2005

Track Listing
1. Love Me Like A Masterpiece
2. The Nest
3. The Hustler
4. Graffiti On Your Shoulder
5. Imaginary Lovers
6. Plenty Coups
7. Mary of the Roses
8. What Jesus Do
9. Music
10. Simpletown Girls
11. Go Alone

[Hope Littwin Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.