Album Review: Living Room by Ruby Slippers

Album Name: Living Room
Artist: Ruby Slippers
Year/Label: 2005 / Groosion Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Ruby Slippers have a nice, relaxed sound and singer Molly Kummerle has a great voice. Their style is loungey with jazzy undertones.

The groovy “Stay with Me” opens the album confidently. Guitarist Andy John(who also plays digeridoo and Theremin) and drummer Robin Tolleson provide a nice backing.

“Stop” is a slow, languid drift of a song. Kummerle’s sensuous lead plays well off the backing.

“Snow Day” has a neat lyric and the singer’s deep voice is very soulful here. Andy John plays a nice harmonica as well.

“This Plastic Life” examines a failed relationship well. This makes a strong debut.

Posted on January 16, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Stay With Me
2. Disease
3. Stop
4. The Moose Walks
5. Snow Day
6. Deep Sea
7. Sing
8. This Plastic Life
9. Christmas Day
10. Folded Laundry
11. Purity Burns
12. Miss Celie’s Blues

[Ruby Slippers Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.