Album Review: Lucy Mongrel by Lucy Mongrel

Album Name: Lucy Mongrel
Artist: Lucy Mongrel
Year/Label: 2000 / Joe Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Lucy Mongrel is the alter ego of blues singer Kate Hart who makes what she calls “mongrel music”.

This is a great excuse for Hart to throw on her quirkiest voice and incorporating as many musical influences as she can.

Some people wont get it but it’s their loss. The rest of us can thrill to the insanely catchy “Max the Circus Cat” and the would-be blues anthem “Livin ‘the blues” to name just two of Lucy Mongrel’s songs.

This is a rare musical treat that should be savoured by the wild at heart.

Posted on October 28, 2001

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Meet in the Streets
2. Who’s Been Sleeping in My Bed?
3. Five Years Ago
4. Don’t Call It Too Late
5. Circle the Wagons
6. Quicksand Passion
7. Livin’ the Blues
8. The Next Time You Wake up (It Won’t Be Next to Me)
9. Thank You
10. Miss Rowena [Inspiration: Horton Foote’s Midnight Caller]
11. Papa Legba [Inspiration: New Orleans Voodoo Tarot]
12. Ode to a Cowboy
13. Max the Circus Cat
14. Freedom [Inspiration: Marion Hart’s Pem Romania]

[Lucy Mongrel Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.