Album Review: Nadir by Arthur Loves Plastic

Album Name: Nadir
Artist: Arthur Loves Plastic
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Bev Stanton is the prolific artist behind Arthur Loves Plastic. “Nadir” is a collection of downhearted ambient music. The record uses loops from members of the tapegerm collective.

“Anemone” uses vocal samples and drifting beats to create an affecting whole.

“Reality” has an oriental flavour and a hard-driving flow to it.

“You Can’t Stop me now” is an ethereal swoon.

The rhythmic “Eagle” is a certified floor-filler. The soaring “Eleven” features a distinctive piano part that elevates the song.

“Nadir” is an accomplished and adventurous record.

Posted on August 14, 2003

Track Listing
1. Error
2. Anemone (Heuristics Inc. vs. ALP)
3. Reality
4. Reign of Locusts (Harsh Reality vs. ALP)
5. You Can’t Stop Me Now
6. America’s Apartheid
7. Eagle
8. Storm
9. Betray My Boots (Groantechno vs. ALP)
10. Wrapped Up
11. Eleven
12. Nadir
13. Deepest Valley

[Arthur Loves Plastic Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.