Album Review: Non Silencio by Diva Scarlet

Album Name: Non Silencio
Artist: Diva Scarlet
Year/Label: 2008 / Level 49

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Diva Scarlet is an Italian all-female band that plays rock and sing in their own language. That alone makes them stand out, but they are also capable musicians. Their tuneful rock reminds me of nineties grunge bands like Soundgarden and the Breeders.

“Souvenir” rattles along at full speed, the singer’s voice forcefully competing with the guitars for attention.

“Io non so” is well-played and darts between quiet verses and shouty choruses.

“Pioggia che cade” is softer and allows the band to create some well-needed variety on the album.

“Cose Nouve” is a good song, the band effectively using a powerful melody to get its point across.

Diva Scarlet can rock with the best of them, and this album should appeal to fans of the genre.

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Dammi una ragione
2 Cura di te
3 Souvenir
4 Immagina
5 Io non so
6 Non più silenzio
7 Pioggia che cade
8 Appesa a un filo
9 Dio mio
10 Cose nuove
11 Casca la terra
12 La stanza dei giochi
13 La giusta distanza

[Diva Scarlet Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.