Album Review: Pages in My Diary by Margot Blanche


Album Name: Pages in My Diary
Artist: Margot Blanche
Year/Label: 2009 / Oriole Entertainment

[Buy at her site (download)]

Review by Anna Maria Stjarnell

Margot Blanche has a sultry vocal style that perfectly suits her music, which mixes new and old styles. She uses classic jazz samples and updates them by incorporating them into her r’n’b style music.

Lonely Heart perfectly darts between old school samples and newer music, as Blanche croons like a diva.

Leather and Lace is more in a classic jazz style, and Blanche uses a brassy vocal style.

Material Love is a sassy Madonna-ish ode to materialism, replete with horns and a cabaret-style mood.

At the End ends the album on a sensitive, soul-baring note. Blanche emotes against a piano-led background, thus endearing herself even more to me.

It’s a stellar and brave record, that many should enjoy.

Track Listing
1. Intro (Pages In My Diary)
2. You’re Here
3. Lonely Heart
4. Let It Rain
5. Leather & Lace
6. You Don’t Know What Love Is
7. Material Love
8. Beautiful Soul
9. Superloverman
10. Diamondback
11. Starry
12. At The End

[Margot Blanche Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.