Album Review: Playground by Léah Kline

Album Name: Playground
Artist: Léah Kline
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Léah Kline interprets classic songs and she does it well. The jazz/cabaret of her recorded debut is assured. Her voice is playful and sweet. If you liked Squirrel Nut Zippers you should love this.

“Love for Sale” gets a rhythmic reading that shows Kline know what she’s doing.

“Girls of Summer” is sophisticated and sad. Kline lends the song a sense of drama with her expert phrasing.

“Prelude to a Kiss” gets a sweet reading and sounds as fresh as ever.

The vivacious “Hernando’s Hideway” is excellent as is Kline’s own song “Call of the Muse”.

She even gets away with “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend”.

In all this record stands out as one of the best in its genre.

Posted on May 11, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
Listen to track samples
1. Doodlin’
2. Love for Sale
3. Wives and Lovers
4. Give Me the Simple Life
5. Girls of Summer
6. In the Dark
7. Alone Together
8. Prelude to a Kiss
9. Hernando’s Hideaway
10. Oh look at me Now!
11. Call of the Muse
12. I’ve got rhythm
13. diamonds are a girl’s Best Friend
14. Peel Me a Grape
15. Tenderly/Midnight Sun
16. Pure Imagination

[Léah Kline Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.