Album Review: Privet by Marynka

Album Name: Privet
Artist: Marynka
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Marynka Nicolai is a Russian-born singer whose record is an utter delight. She has some of Bjork’s restless experimenting but her own spirit.

“Lucky” is a bass-heavy playful little song with nice relaxed vocals.

“Navsegda” sung in Russian is a dreamy track in the vein of “Vespertine” but more subtly funky.

“The Rain Of Love” is a sweet, filmic song that paints vivid pictures in your mind.

The quirky title “Fish with Sunglasses” hides a melancholy song.

Marynka’s record is a special thing.

Posted on February 18, 2005

Track Listing
1. Beautiful Mess
2. Lucky
3. Navsegda
4. Sweetest Love
5. The Rain Of Love
6. Barrakuda Lubov
7. Fish
8. Cry Of Love
9. An Aviator
10. Paradise
11. The Edge Of The Universe
12. Matrozen
13. Kosmos

[Marynka Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.