Album Review: Scents by Miriam

Album Name: Scents
Artist: Miriam
Year/Label: 2002 / Independent

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Miriam is an ethereal band from Italy who have taken their name from Catherine Denevue’s vampire character in the film The Hunger.

Their sound is airy and spacious and singer Daniela Brunon has a great voice.

“Alive” is a track that carries echoes of the Cocteau Twins, but has industrial leanings as well. “Always in danger” sounds like an eighties synthpop track, but the production is more modern. Daniela has some of Propaganda singer Claudia Brucken’s icy cool delivery here.

“Daphne” is expansive and epic. “Scents” is a very nice listen.

Posted on June 17, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Scents
2. Evidence
3. Always in Danger
4. Space White Stones
5. Daphne
6. Lies
7. Unkind
8. Alive
9. The minutes tale
10. I’m nebel
11. Scents (video track)

[Miriam Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.