Album Review: Sell Out by The Pixies

Album Name: The Pixies – Sell Out (2004)
Artist: The Pixies
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is basically a concert video of the Pixies Reunion tour of 2004. It was recorded in Japan, Scotland, France, Louisiana, California, Massachusetts, Texas…and that’s just the first song!

Actually the rest of the concert portion is mainly performances shot in France. It features all their greatest hits and more.

The band members are looking less like rock stars and more like soccer parents, but I guess we all have to grow up eventually don’t we?

There is not a lot of stage banter, but it’s hard to tell if that is because it was edited out or whether the band just doesn’t do a lot of that. I’ve never seen them live, so I can’t say.

Special features include a bunch more songs and interviews with their tour manager and production/lighting manager. I found the commentary very interesting but would have liked to hear from the band members as well.

If you missed the tour, this is a good way to pretend you were there. If you did see a show or two on this tour, this is a nice way to relive it.

All in al this is a good DVD to have if you are a fan of the Pixies.

Posted on December 4, 2005

Track Listing
1. Bone Machine
2. Wave Of Mutilation (Uk Surf)
3. In Heaven
4. Something Against You
5. River Euphrates
6. U-Mass
7. Bone Machine
8. Cactus
9. Ed Is Dead
10. I Bleed
11. Monkey Gone To Heaven
12. Hey
13. Levitate Me
14. Subbacultcha
15. Dead
16. Gouge Away
17. Velouria
18. Mr. Grieves
19. Crackity Jones
20. Broken Face
21. Isla De Encanta
22. Tame
23. Here Comes Your Man
24. The Holiday Song
25. Where Is My Mind?
26. Vamos
27. Wave Of Mutilation
28. Gigantic
29. Caribou
30. Here Comes Your Man
31. Debaser
32. Gigantic
33. U-Mass
34. Crackity Jones
35. Nimrod’s Son (Melody Into 8)
36. The Holiday Song
37. Subbacultcha
38. Vamos
39. No. 13 Baby
40. Planet Of Sound
41. Is She Weird?
42. Into The White
43. Where Is My Mind?
44. Monkey Gone To Heaven

[The Pixies MySpace Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.