Album Review: Sing, Memory by Sarah Nixey

Album Name: Sing, Memory
Artist: Sarah Nixey
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Black Box Recorder’s lead singer goes solo and sounds not unlike that band.

Nixey’s distinctive very English voice opens the disc saying, “This is Sarah Nixey talking”.

This is classy, superior electronic pop music with a dark heart.

“Beatiful Oblivion” is a pulsating, danceable track with a gorgeous vocal lead.

The first single “Strangelove” heads for the dancefloor too, but sounds icily detached thanks to Nixey’s singing.

“The Collector” gets its inspiration from a frightening novel by John Fowles about a girl who gets abducted by a madman. It’s haunted and strangely uptempo as Nixey sings it from his viewpoint.

“Endless Circles” is a sweet song with a nice chorus.

Nixey also covers a Human League song nicely.

It’s a beautiful solo debut.

Posted on April 4, 2007

Track Listing
1. Sing (Prelude)
2. When I’m Here with You
3. Beautiful Oblivion
4. Strangelove [Sing Version]
5. Hotel Room
6. Nothing on Earth
7. Nightshift
8. Memory (Prelude)
9. Collector
10. Breathe in, Fade Out
11. Endless Circles
12. Man I Knew
13. Masquerade
14. Love and Exile
15. Black Hit of Space

[Sarah Nixey Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.