Album Review: Sketches by Carbe Durand

Album Name: Sketches
Artist: Carbe Durand
Year/Label:2006 / Sonoton

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This album contains Latin music which I am neither educated about nor listen to with any frequency.
So I don’t have much to compare this to. The extent of the Latin music I hear is at bars and restaurants and the opening of the show, Dexter. So I’ll be brief: This is cool.

The end.

Ok I guess I can say a little more. Here’s what I can tell you: The album is very well produced. The all over sound is great. The musicians are very talented, they sound fantastic, and the songs are well written, interesting and memorable. It’s instrumental so I cannot comment on any vocals. Much of it sounds like it belongs in a film, or a television show… very evocative.

I especially like Midnight in Madrid. It is very dramatic and beautiful.

If you get a chance, head over to their website and listen to the track called Haunted House Theme I LOVE it!!

Anyone who has more experience with this type care to comment? You can listen at CDBaby!
(note, as I posted the link I noticed that their CDBaby page says that their music has appeared on many television shows! I swear I did not read that before saying it’s perfect for that)

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Perrito Caliente
2 Bumblebee Salsa
3 Romance Gitano
4 Buzzing Rio
5 Serpent Dance
6 Tango Frio
7 Mambo de Fito
8 Suenos
9 Seduction
10 Transana
11 Midnight in Madrid
12 El Viento en la Isla
13 Raices de Tradicion
14 No Clue
15 Sevilla
16 Journey through the Andes
17 Streets of Osaka
18 College Bound
19 Spanish Fantasy

[Carbe Durand Official Site]


1 comment for “Album Review: Sketches by Carbe Durand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.