Album Review: somehurrygood by Andrea Florian

Album Name: somehurrygood
Artist: Andrea Florian
Year/Label: 1998 / Bathsheba Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Canadian singer Andrea Florian’s third album is brilliant. She writes intelligent lyrics and evocative tunes and finds a good musical setting for them. Among her influences she lists Peter Gabriel and Shawn Colvin and there is a slight resemblance to those artists.

In the excellent “Feminist” she sings “I’m a feminist but it doesn’t mean I hate all men, although I may be concerned about a few of them” Ani Difranco couldn’t have said it better.

Florian has many more great songs on this album. Go investigate.

Posted on November 2, 2001

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. More than I am
2. Something Good
3. Counting the Stars
4. She said
5. Indifferent
6. In History
7. Peace of Mind
8. Feminist
9. Point of view
10. Doors open
11. Somebody Else
11. The hey nanana song
12. Lullaby
13. If I..

[Andrea Florian Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.