Album Review: Speak Love by Courtney Fortune

Album Name: Speak Love
Artist: Courtney Fortune
Year/Label: 2010 / Origin Records

[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Courtney Fortune’s debut album sees the singer delivering her own songs and some standards nicely. Having reviewed an ep of hers, I was glad to get this album.

I Wish You Love by Charles Trenet gets a sweet and tender reading with some neat vocals.

You’re Staring to Feel Like Home is one of her original songs, and it’s a sensitive and thoughtful mediation on finding love. The melody’s sweet and cool.

The title song is a nicely orchestrated moment that sounds like a classic though it’s brand new. It’s that good.

Jobim’s Dindi gets a really cool reading too. Fortune’s vocals are utterly gorgeous here.

She’s made a fine album.

Track Listing
1. Care of cell 4
2. I wish you love
3. Lost in the memory
4. You’re starting to feel like home
5. Close the door
6. Speak love
7. I love the way you’re breaking my heart
8. Like always
9. Dindi
10. Bitter words
11. I’ll keep waiting
12. Hello love

[Courtney Fortune Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.