Album Review: Spoonful of Voodoo by Hex

Album Name: Spoonful of Voodoo
Artist: Hex
Year/Label: 2003 / Hex Music

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Hex’s music is an interesting mix of influences. They take in dance music, rock and pop and let it stir til it becomes their own.

“Wicked Sexy Violet Pisces” is a wigged out track with a sensual vocal from the singer who calls herself (9).

“Santeria Queen” is a funky cut with a nice bit of scratching and a magical bass line.

“Lucifer Fell” is a humorous tale about a bad man who meets his match. (9)”s laid-back vocals blends nicely with the music. “Walk on Water” is a rockier song, which lets the band go a bit Led Zeppelin. “Soulless” is a little spooky, but also danceable and fun.

“Spoonful of Voodoo” is a wicked treat of an album.

Posted on November 20, 2003

Track Listing
1. Hex
2. Wicked Sexy Violet Pisces
3. Santeria Queen
4. Scorpio Rising
5. Lucifer Fell
6. Christiania
7. Walk On Water
8. Soulless
9. West Wind
10. Dumb Blonde
11. Mariner’s Apprentice (Instr.)
12. Mhnent-Ils Mon Temps (Instr.)
13. Vaticannot (Coda, Soulless)
14. Bonus/Remix

[Hex Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.