Album Review: String Planet by String Planet

Album Name: String Planet
Artist: String Planet
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Gosh, I’m not sure what to make of this. It’s certainly not what I am used to listening to. For some reason the first track reminds me of my childhood. I’m transported to the early 70s, being at the home of my parents’ friends and the kind of music they had on (my home was mostly filled with show tunes so it was only outside the home I got to hear different stuff). It’s a little bit “Free To Be, You And Me” sounding what with all the flutes and unison singing. I am picturing a woman in a flowery dress prancing around with flowers in her hair, eating health food and smoking something funky.

I don’t really know how to review this other than to say, it’s sure different than anything else I’ve heard lately. There is a lot going on here, especially when you realize that String Planet is made up of two people. They have some help from other musicians, but still…it’s a pretty full, solid sound.

Most of the songs are actually instrumental so the unison singing isn’t prevalent (thank goodness, unison singing is one thing I don’t care for, it just sounds like girl scout camp bonfires to me).

They are clearly talented musicians, and if you enjoy instrumental string music (that isn’t chamber music) you will most likely like this recording. Oh and cool CD art!

Posted on November 29, 2004

Track Listing
1. Without A Word
2. Hold Me In Your Heart
3. Edge of the Ice
4. Drum Prayer
5. Boomerang
6. All That I Want
7. Forgotten Messages
8. The Race
9. Romance
10. Dogland
11. Elephant Feathers
12. Little Melody
13. Gorilla Walk

[String Planet Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.