Album Review: The Blistering Sun by Rachael Sage

Album Name: The Blistering Sun
Artist: Rachael Sage
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’d heard many of these songs when Rachael performed them at our house concert last year. It’s always cool to put in a CD for the first time and be able to sing along.

It’s great to hear them with a full band and all the production bells and whistles instead of a home recording complete with dog barks. Though that’s fun too.

I’ve been a fan of Rachael’s for quite some time now and it’s crazy, but it seems she gets better with each record and each show. She’s a star. Fo’ reals.

I don’t even know if I can pick out favorites because every time I listen I find a new love. Today though I am smitten with “Alright, OK”, “Violet or Blue”, “Lonely Streets” ok I’ll stop before I just end up mentioning them all. Honestly, this is a stellar release full of grade A songs and performances.

Posted on June 9, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Alright, OK
2. Featherwoman
3. 93 Maidens
4. Wildflower
5. Violet or Blue
6. Lonely Streets
7. Older
8. Hit Song
9. Burning Witch
10. Paperplane
11. Proof
12. Surprise
13. Anything, Anywhere
14. C’mon Over
15. Calypso

[Rachael Sage Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.