Album Review: The Burning Season by Faith And The Muse

Album Name: The Burning Season
Artist: Faith And The Muse
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Review by Sarah Bernardi

Meet Faith and the Muse, or, rather William Faith and Monica Richards. Faith and the Muse have been delighting fans for years with a collection of classic albums that showcase their trademark style.

FATM have returned with yet another classic, “The Burning Season”. Perhaps what gripped me most about this particular album was the overall theme that is shown in Monica’s wise and telling lyrics. All of the songs have their own layered, structured sound.

My personal favorite is “Boudiccea”, an ethereal song about womanhood.

Other standout tracks include “Relic Song”, where Monica sheds light on the music scene of today compared to that of the past.

“Gone to Ground” has a very loungy feel to it as Monica’s sultry vocals get her point across.

Songs like “The Burning Season” and “Prodigal” have a timeless message that may seem familiar to some, but probably foreign to most. Monica channels her messages through poetry, and William Faith does a great job of capturing that essence and giving it a musical form.

I urge you all to check out Faith and The Muse’s “The Burning Season”

Posted on June 17, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
Listen to track samples
1. Bait & Switch
2. Sredni Vashtar
3. Boudiccea
4. The Burning Season
5. Whispered in Your Ear
6. Gone to Ground
7. Relic Song
8. In the Amber Room
9. Failure to Thrive
10. Visions
11. Prodigal
12. Willow’s Song

[ Faith And The Muse Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.