Album Review: The Other side of the Mountain by Suzy Mangion

Album Name: The Other side of the Mountain
Artist: Suzy Mangion
Year/Label: 2008 / Pickled Egg

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Suzy Mangion has sung with George whom I’ve reviewed here before and with Piano Magic. This is her enchanting solo debut.

Ohio the Heartland is a simple but effective folk song, with a lovely vocal and a martial beat.

Evenings at Home is a gospel, which Mangion pulls off well.

The Incredible Friend is a quiet, hymn like creation with some of Mangion’s best singing.

Il Mondo é Qui is an Italian song that draws the listener in its dreamy wake. Mangion’s delivery is gossamer soft and the song follows her to some mysterious dreamland, without really trying.

This is her chance to shine as a solo performer and she shines like the stars.

Posted on April 8, 2008

Track Listing
1. Sudden Glory
2. Ohio the Homeland
3. Chant
4. Evenings at Home
5. Many Happy Returns
6. The Incredible friend
7. Come in by Stealth
8. There is no west
9. The March Past
10. Il Mondo e qui
11. Spar Box
12. The Deliverers of Their Country

[Suzy Mangion Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.