Album Review: The White Album by Tammy Patrick

Album Name: The White Album
Artist: Tammy Patrick
Year/Label: 2002 / Rustic Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Since I am not familiar with much country music. I can’t compare her to anyone currently making music in this genre. But these songs seem to be about what we all associate with country music: whiskey, cowboys, fighting and runnin’ from the law.

She reminds me of more old country like Dolly and Patsy than the newer stuff like Shania. Which is a compliment. There also is a touch of bluegrass with the occasional banjo. There are also some nice guitar parts. A few of these songs are waltzes (or when speeded up, polkas, that is that they are in 3/3 time).

“Coming Home” is a catchy number, while “Billy West” is your classic country story song.

A word about production…the CD is well done and the packaging looks good, nice photography. I just wish they had included the lyrics. I am one of those people that need to look at the words while I’m listening to get the full effect and I know I’m not the only one.

I would say that if you like catchy tunes, and a classic style country voice (a bit nasal and with lots of swooping but clear and strong), you will like this one.

Posted on April 2, 2002

Track Listing
1. Green
2. Coming Home
3. Billy West
4. 1968
5. Shovel Birds
6. Crashing Down on Me
7. Blue Again
8. Tonight
9. No Place
10. Whiskey
11. Joe Smith
12. This Old House

[Tammy Patrick Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.