Album Review: Two Hands by Gunnar Madsen

Album Name: Two Hands
Artist: Gunnar Madsen
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Having one of those days? You know the kind I mean. The cat barfed on the floor (and you stepped in it in bare feet). The outfit you wanted to wear is on the floor covered in dog hair. The pump at the gas station was broken and traffic was crazy. You get to work and there is no coffee. Yeah, those.

Well a good antidote for that is this album. It’s filled with light, pretty piano music.

Since I am not a pianist (though I do know Heart & Soul and used to be able to play Lionel Richie’s Endless Love once upon a time), I will not go into the intricacies of Gunnar Madsen’s style or skill. I will just say that I think it’s beautiful, soothing and a perfect mood calming album.

There are some livelier numbers such as Frank Grows Flowers, but even that is peaceful and lovely.

Track Listing
1. Break Into Blossom
2. In These Lonely Regions
3. Kerenyi
4. Half Empty
5. Nino And Me
6. Ordinary Day
7. The Blackbird Whistling
8. Frank Grows Flowers
9. Bandon
10. For Wendy
11. Imagine It Falling
12. Down Moon
13. Ockeghem’s Turn
14. Oak Sky
15. 3 South Trail
16. Red Bird

[Gunnar Madsen Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.